Reporting with Sound and Image Audio Reflection

In completing my CAFF audio piece I learned a great deal about the realities of creating an audio piece in a real world environment. I learned how to prioritise my time more effectively then I’d previously been able to in other assessments. I planned out my story, angle and decided upon who I would interview in short space of time.

This allowed me to take the time to write questions to ask my interviewees and research my story while I was waiting for confirmation of my interviews. I was able to be as prepared as possible for my eventual interviews and get the best the possible result out of them.  I noticed that my interviewing skills had improved from the last time I conducted an interview. I put this down to implementing some of the interviewing tips from Mark’s lectures into my interview and I felt this made a noticeable difference.

There a couple things next time would I do differently, first of all I would try to call potential interviewees instead of relying on emailing. I realise now calling people is faster and more effective way of organising interviews. Next time I would also try to organise more interviews instead my hope hinging on a small amount of interviews.

The most important and crucial interview to my story cancelled on me on the day of the interview, which left me without vital information I needed. It meant I had to rearrange my story and leave out the most newsworthy ‘peg’ of story. Finally I next time I would to come up with a backup angle to my story. When my interview cancelled it meant my main hook of the story wouldn’t work.

Through the course of creating my CAFF audio piece I learnt many new things about journalism. Most importantly I learnt what is necessary to create a strong audio story. Although I believe much improvement is possible and necessary in my broadcast work I think this assessment will put me on the path to improving my overall journalistic skills. I learnt thorough planning of a story is a key component of this.

Having a strong ‘peg’ to a story goes a long way to ensuring the story will draw in the listener. I learnt how to put together and edit an audio package.  I learnt new interview skills and put them into practice in a real world journalistic environment. I now understand what considerations are required to create a good pitch such as the considering the audience, written concisely, demonstrates the reporting that will take place and the describing the story idea.

Finally I learnt the importance of broadcast journalism in the modern day world. In the ever shifting journalism sphere broadcast journalism still has vital role to play in getting to news to the masses. It allows large amounts of information to be condensed into an easily digestible and relatable format, and uniquely is accessible almost anywhere or anytime.

Leave a Reply

